89.1 WEMU

November 2018 Elections: Ann Arbor Election Results

Nov 7, 2018

Only two of Ann Arbor’s five wards had contested races for city council. In the 1st Ward, Democrat Jeff Haynor defeated Ryan Hughes. Hughes ran without party affiliation. Haynor will occupy the chair now held by out-going Sumi Kailasopathy. She opted not to seek re-election.

In the 4th Ward, Democrat Elizabeth Nelson Beat independent candidate Joe Hood. Nelson will take over for Graydon Krapohl, whom she defeated in the August democratic primary.

Mayor Christopher Taylor was uncontested Tuesday and has won re-election. Taylor defeated 4th ward city councilman Jack Eaton in the primary. Eaton has two years left on his council term.

In the 2nd ward, newcomer Kathy Griswold has won her first term. Griswold was unopposed Tuesday after defeating sitting councilman Kurt Westphal in the democratic primary in August.

In Ward three, Incumbent Julie Grand will serve another four-year term. Grand was unopposed Tuesday.

There will be a new face in the 5th Ward. Ali Ramlawi ran unopposed Tuesday having dispatched current councilman Chuck Warpehoski in the August primary.

Ann Arbor Voters Pass All Three Ballot Proposals

Easily the most controversial proposal anywhere on a Washtenaw County Ballot, Proposal A has was succesull with 52.61 percentage of city voters decided to preserve the so-called “Library Lot” to house an urban park and civic center. The area will now become known as the “Center of the City.” Had it failed, city officials would continued working with Chicago-based developer, Core Spaces, to being to life a mixed-use, 17-story high rise with a 12,000 square-foot public plaza.  

The measure had split many in the community. For some, this was about preservation versus development. For others, it was about the economic growth of the downtown area and a way in which to better provide funding for more affordable housing.

The other two proposals on the Ann Arbor ballot were far less divisive, as evidenced in the voting.

Proposal B amends the city charter to change the manner in which vacancies are filled in elective offices. It passed, winning 87.45 percent in support. Up until now, when someone leaves office, city council would make an appointment and that person would serve out the remainder of departed elected officials term. Moving forward, the appointee will serve until the next, regularly scheduled election takes place.

Proposal C was a millage renewal for Ann Arbor park. The 5-year, 1.1 mill levy replaces an expiring, voter -approved, five-year levy. The tax is expected to generate over $6-million dollars in tax revenue in the first year of collection. The money will be dedicated to parks maintenance and capital improvements. 

Ann Arbor School Board Races

Susan Baskett, Bryan L. Johnson, Jessica Kelly, and Rebecca Lazarus all will take places on the Ann Arbor School board for 4 year terms.  They will lead the helm of  the 5th largest school district in Michigan with an annual budget of about $215 million and a staff of about 1,500 full-time employees, including about 1,100 teachers. 

Simpson Wins Re-election to 14-A District Court

Judge J. Cedric Simpson will preside over 14-A District Court for another six years. Simpson defeated challenger Thomas Bourque Tuesday to earn another term.

Non-commercial, fact based reporting is made possible by your financial support.  Make your donation to WEMU today to keep your community NPR station thriving.