89.1 WEMU

November Election 2018: Dingell Retains Congressional Seat, Will Be Joined By New Democrats

Nov 7, 2018

Debbie Dingell
Credit State of Michigan / michigan.gov

Congresswoman Debbie Dingell has been won another term in the U.S. House of Representatives.  She will be joined by many other Democrats when the new term begins in January.  She offers her analysis of the concluded midterm election with WEMU's David Fair.

Statewide Election Results For U.S. House and Senate

Dingell Wins Re-election to 12th Congressional District Seat

Democrat Debbie Dingell will serve a third term in the U.S. House of Representatives after scoring an easy win the 12thDistrict race. Dingell defeated Republican Jeff Jones by a wide margin, including 80.41 percent of the vote in Washtenaw County. 3rd party candidates collectively earned 2.31 percent of the Washtenaw County vote.  Dingell first won the office in the 2010 election and took over the seat long held by her husband, John Dingell. 

Walberg defeats Driskell Again To Hold On To 7th Congressional District Seat 

Incumbent Republican Tim Walberg, once again, overcame a challenge from democrat Gretchen Driskell to win another term in the U.S House. Walberg defeated Driskell in the 2016 election for the same seat. In that election, Walberg tallied 55-percent of the vote to Driskell’s 40-percent. This time around with 67% of precincts reporting, he picked up 54-percent of the district vote to the former Mayor of Saline’s 46-percent In Washtenaw County, Driskell fared better with voters, but it was not enough.  This will be Walberg’s fifth term as 7th District Representative. 

Stabenow Wins Re-election to the U.S. Senate

Debbie Stabenow will serve a fourth term in the U.S. Senate. The democrat fended off a challenge from Republican businessman and military veteran John James in Tuesday’s elections. Stabenow won with 52 percent, including taking 71 percent of the vote in Washtenaw County.  3rdparty candidates collectively earned 1.52 percent of the Washtenaw County vote. Stabenow was first elected to the Senate in 2000. With Tuesday’s win she will serve through 2024. 

Non-commercial, fact based reporting is made possible by your financial support.  Make your donation to WEMU today to keep your community NPR station thriving.

Like 89.1 WEMU on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

— David Fair is the WEMU News Director and host of Morning Edition on WEMU.  You can contact David at 734.487.3363, on twitter @DavidFairWEMU, or email him at dfair@emich.edu