89.1 WEMU

Two incumbents ousted from Ann Arbor School Board

Ann Arbor, MI – Voters in the Ann Arbor School District have ousted two incumbents. Bob Geier lost his bid for re-election to a one-year term to Helen Gates-Bryant. Fellow incumbent Kathleen Conway failed to garner enough votes to win election to another term. Newcomers Susan Baskett and Deb Mexicotte join incumbent Randy Friedman on the school board for the three-year terms. Ann Arbor voters also approved a measure that will reduce the size of the school board from it's current nine members, to seven. Each trustee will serve staggered, four-year terms. The plan takes effect next summer.