89.1 WEMU

YCS Born As Board Members Sworn In

Jul 1, 2013

The Ypsilanti Community Schools district was officially born this morning, as the Board of Education held its organizational meeting.

The Oath of Office was administered to trustees by State Representative David Rutledge.

The board then elected the same officers it has had throughout the consolidation process: David Bates as President, Don Garrett, Jr. as Vice-President, Tony VanDerworp as Treasurer and Greg Meyers as Secretary.   

The board approved a $50.3 million budget that includes a carry-over deficit of $11.2 million.  The district will be working with the state treasurer's office to reduce that deficit by a million dollars - one of the promises the district made in order to gain approval for an extended period to pay down its debt. 

The board also officially hired teachers, staff and principals for Ypsilanti Community Schools, and set the Board of Education's regular meetings for the first and third Monday of each month.

State Representative David Rutledge administers the Oath of Office to trustees of the Ypsilanti Community Schools Board of Education.
Credit Bob Eccles

In approving some new names for district buildings, the board opted to shorten the new names for Ford Elementary School and Perry Child Development Center.  They'll become Ford Early Learning Center and Perry Early Learning Center.  The buildings were originally going to be labeled Early Learning and Family centers.