89.1 WEMU

August 4th Primary Elections

There were a two contested primary races in Ypsilanti Township on Tuesday. 

There were a number of ballot proposals decided on Tuesday, including two countywide measures. All of them passed. 

It was a close race for 22nd Circuit Court in Washtenaw County.

On Primary Tuesday, Superior Township featured races for Clerk and Township Board of Trustees. 

There was only one contested race in Lodi Township and that was for the Supervisor's position.  

In Lyndon Township, the only contested race was for Township Board of Trustees. 

In Pittsfield Township, there werte contested Democratic primary races for Supervior, Treasurer, Township Board of Trustees and Parks Commission. There were no Republicans on the ballot.

Will Hathaway won the Democratic primary race for Scio Township Supervisor of Jillian Kerry. He will not face Republican opposition in November. 

There were three contested primary races among candidates for the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners on Tuesday. They were in the 3rd, 4th and 5th districts. 

There will be a new prosecuting attorney in Washtenaw County.  Brian Mackie decided against seeking reelection. Mackie had held the post since first winning in the November 1992 election.  There were three candidates running in the Demcoratic primary race on Tuesday.  Hugo Mack, Eli Savit and Arianne Slay.

For a second time, Washtenaw County Sheriff, Jerry Clayton, has fended off a challenge from longtime law enforcement professional, Ken Magee. In Tuesday's Democratic primary race, Clayton garnered over 75-percent of the vote. Clayton has no Republican opposition in November. 

In the November, 2016 general election, Magee ran as a Republican against Clayton and lost. Clayton was first elected Sheriff in November, 2008. 

The bid to win another 4-year term as Washtenaw County Clerk/Register of Deeds continues for Lawrence Kestenbaum.  Kestenbaum garnered more votes than either of the two challengers in the  democratic primary. He received over 67-percent of the vote. Doristeen Taylor of Ann Arbor had just over 17-percent and Pecola Lewis of Ypsilanti won a little more than 15-percent of votes.

Kestenbaum faces a Republican challenge from Gary Greiner of Ann Arbor in November. Greiner was unopposed Tuesday. 

The November general election races for those seeking election to the State House of Representatives from Washtenaw County have taken shape. 

Races for Clerk and Board of Trustees were held Tuesday in York Township. 

Four Republicans and two Democrats are moving on to the November general election in the race for Webster Township Board of Trustees. 

In Sharon Township, incumbent Supervisor, Peter Psarouthakis, won his Republican primary race. 

There were a number of contested races in Northfield Township in Tuesday's primary elections. 

There were Republican primary races for Lima Township Supervisor and the Township Board of Trustees. 

In Augusta Township, there were primary races for Clerk, Supervisor and the Township Board of Trustees. 

There were contested primary races in all five of Ann Arbor's city council wards. Mayor Christopher Taylor had been backing candidates in all five races in an effort to win more council support for his initiatives. 

There was one contested primary race Tuesday for congressional seats representing Washtenaw County. The others were uncontested and set up November showdowns.

Incumbent Democrat Debbie Dingell has won her primary race and will move on to the November ballot.  Voters in Washtenaw County favored Dingell over Ypsilanti challenger Solomon Rajput by about a 3-1 margin.  Dingell will be challenged by Republican Jeff Jones in the November general election.