© 2024 WEMU
Serving Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County, MI
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Ypsi 24 Hour Film Shootout Winners Chosen

Bob Eccles

This year’s Ypsi 24 Hour Film Shootout drew more than 30 teams of independent film makers, each of them hoping to win a $1,000 top prize and the coveted “IPSY” trophy.  The short films were screened and winners announced Friday night at Washtenaw Community College’s Towsley Auditorium.

Adam Wright won with his film,"Where We Forget," in his third year of participating in the shootout.  He’s been involved in film making pretty much all his life.

"I guess I got lost for a couple of years, and then came back to it about three years ago and I've been pursuing it pretty seriously ever since," Wright says.

Ypsi 24 Hour Film Shootoutfounder and director Mark Ducker says the quality of the entries improves every year.

"If this continues," Ducker says, "it'll just be a much harder job for the judges every time around to pick...that top three."

Both Adam Wright’s “Where We Forget” and the audience favorite, “Forever Young” by Megan and Roger Johnson, won an IPSY trophy – a hand-crafted wooden scale replica of the Ypsilanti water tower.