© 2024 WEMU
Serving Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County, MI
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

August 2015 Ann Arbor Primary Election Results

City Council Ann Arbor
89.1 WEMU
Sabra Briere, Zachary Ackerman, John Eaton, and Chip Smith all won council races in Tuesday's Ann Arbor August Primary Elections

With all the ballots counted, the results came within hours of the polls closing Tuesday night. The incumbents in Ann Arbor's 3rd and 5th wards have lost their primary election races for the Ann Arbor City Council. The 3rd Ward's Stephen Kunselman has been defeated by Zachary Ackerman, and 5th Ward Councilman Mike Anglin has been ousted by Chip Smith. 1st Ward incumbent Sabra Briere will retain her seatas will 4th Ward Councilman, Jack Eaton.

Low Voter Turnout

Though 1,750 absentee ballots were cast prior to the elections, Ed Golembiewski, the Washtenaw County Director of Elections told WEMU news Tuesday that while voter turnout has been predictably low, and he estimated (correctly) that only 8-10% of voters will  have participated in Tuesday's election. 

Out of the 72,378 registered voters in the city primary election, voter turnout was about 10.46% or 7,568 voters. A recap of the final numbers, follow up stories, and reaction from the Washtenaw County Primary Elections can be found below.

August 2015 Ann Arbor City Council Results

Ann Arbor City - Ward 1 Council Member 

  • Will Leaf  -  29.32% (287 votes)
  • Sabra Briere -  70.48% (690 votes)

16,219 registered voters

Credit Jorge Avellan
Zachary Ackerman, celebrating with Sabra Briere at Arbor Brewing Company over his win over incumbent Stephen Kunselman Tuesday night

Ann Arbor City - Ward 3 Council Member 

  • Stephen Kunselman - 48.79% (907 votes)
  • Zachary Ackerman - 50.94% (947 votes)

17,555 registered voters
Ann Arbor City - Ward 4 Council Member 

  • Jaime Magiera - 39.52% (709 votes)
  • John Eaton  - 60.31% (1082 votes)

17,483 registered voters


Credit Jorge Avellan / 89.1 WEMU
89.1 WEMU

Ann Arbor City - Ward 5 Council Member 

  • Mike Anglin - 44.60% (1302 votes)
  • Chip Smith  - 55.26% (1613 votes)

20,761 registered voters

Related Stories:

Ann Arbor Primary Elections: Sabra Briere Wins In The 1st Ward

Ann Arbor Primary Elections: Incumbent Jack Eaton Wins The 4th Ward

Ann Arbor Primary Elections: Chip Smith Beats 5th Ward Incumbent Mike Anglin

Ann Arbor Primary Elections: Zachary Ackerman Wins 3rd Ward Race Over Stephen Kunselman



Contact David: dfair@emich.edu
Patrik is a graduate of Eastern Michigan University and functions as the New Media/Social Media manager for 89.1 WEMU.
Related Content