89.1 WEMU

Three New Faces On Ann Arbor City Council Bring Uncertain Changes

Aug 6, 2014

Ann Arbor City Council will have three new faces later this year. It's unclear how the changes will impact what has often been a divided group.

Ann Arbor Democratic Mayoral Primary winner Christopher Taylor, 2nd Ward winner Kirk Westphal, and 3rd Ward winner Julie Grand
Credit Andrew Cluley / 89.1 WEMU

Supporters of outgoing Mayor John Hieftje and the Democratic Mayoral Primary winner Christopher Taylor celebrated three city council primary wins as well.

Kirk Westphal defeated Nancy Kaplan for the second ward seat currently held by Sally Hart Petersen. She opted against seeking re-election to council in favor of running in the mayoral primary.

In the third ward, Taylor's seat was claimed by Julie Grand, and Graydon Krapohl was unopposed for Margie Teall's fourth ward position.

With Sumi Kailasapathy winning re-election in the first ward, and Stephen Kunselman retaining his seat on council despite the loss in the mayoral primary, it's uncertain how much will really change on council.

Westphal hopes talk of divisions on council go away, "I'm happy to be their representative, and I want to be everyone's representative.  We have to be a big tent and we want a lot of inclusiveness and make sure everyone shares a vision for the future of Ann Arbor."

The primary winners are all un-opposed in November.

Like 89.1 WEMU on Facebook and follow us on Twitter— Andrew Cluley is the Ann Arbor beat reporter, and anchor for 89.1 WEMU News. Contact him at 734.487.3363 or email him acluley@emich.edu.