© 2024 WEMU
Serving Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County, MI
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
School Closing Information

Results: Congressional Primary Races-Washtenaw County

There was one contested primary race Tuesday for congressional seats representing Washtenaw County. The others were uncontested and set up November showdowns.

Incumbent Democrat Debbie Dingell has won her primary race and will move on to the November ballot.  Voters in Washtenaw County favored Dingell over Ypsilanti challenger Solomon Rajput by about a 3-1 margin.  Dingell will be challenged by Republican Jeff Jones in the November general election. 

In the 7th congressional district, incumbent Republican Tim Walberg was unopposed Tuesday.  Former Saline Mayor and State Representative Gretchen Driskell was also unopposed and will provide a Democratic challenge to Walberg in November.  Driskell has challenged Walberg twice before and lost each time. 

The U.S. Senate primary races were unopposed.  Incumbent Democrat Gary Peters will be challenged by Republican John James in November. 

Contact David: dfair@emich.edu