© 2024 WEMU
Serving Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County, MI
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
School Closing Information

Ypsilanti City Council Election Winners Will Take Oath Of Office Tonight

City of Ypsilanti

Three Ypsilanti City Council members will take the oath of office Monday night, November 9th after being elected on November 3rd

Lois Richardson, Steve Wilcoxen, and Annie Somerville will be sworn in virtually through a Zoom meeting.  However, while Richardson was re-elected to the first ward, she is currently serving as Mayor after former Mayor Beth Bashertresigned from office in June.  Richardson plans to continue serving as mayor until that term expires in 2022.  City Clerk Andrew Hellenga says that will leave a vacancy in Ward 1.

City Clerk Andrew Hellenga: As required by charter if there is a vacancy in one of the council seats, it must be filled within three regular meetings.

Council Member Brian Jones-Chance, who was appointed by council to fill the Ward 1 seat when Mayor Richardson became mayor, wants to be reconsidered for the position.  His appointment expires on Monday night, November 9th. 

Non-commercial, fact based reporting is made possible by your financial support.  Make your donation to WEMU todayto keep your community NPR station thriving.

Like 89.1 WEMU on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

— Jorge Avellan is a reporter for 89.1 WEMU News. Contact him at 734.487.3363 or email him javellan@emich.edu

Related Content