© 2024 WEMU
Serving Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor and Washtenaw County, MI
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners elects new leadership

Justin Hodge
Washtenaw County

The Washtenaw County Board of Commissionersvoted on a new chair and vice-chair at last night’s meeting.

Justin Hodge kicked off his second term as a fifth district commissioner by being unanimously voted the new chair of the Board of Commissioners. He takes over for Sue Shink who was elected to the state Senate.

Hodge, who works full-time as a professor of social work at the University of Michigan, represents Ypsilanti and Augusta Townships.

During the meeting, he pledged to work with local governments and community partners to improve lives.

“We can combat the housing crisis, we can combat food insecurity, we can disrupt community violence, we can ensure the delivery of critical human services, we can improve health outcomes and we can improve the economic outlook for our residents.”

Caroline Sanders, who represents the fourth district, was voted vice-chair. Crystal Lyte, Yousef Rabhi, and Annie Somerville were also sworn in to be a part of the 11-person, all-Democrat board.

Non-commercial, fact based reporting is made possible by your financial support.  Make your donation to WEMU todayto keep your community NPR station thriving.

Like 89.1 WEMU on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Contact WEMU News at734.487.3363 or email us at studio@wemu.org

Josh Hakala is the general assignment reporter for the WEMU news department.
Related Content